Lee Morgan Sonic Boom Jazz Music CD Review

The exceptionally talented Jazz artist Lee Morgan has released him CD entitled Sonic Boom. I am very confident and happy to announce that I believe Lee Morgan fans, and Jazz fans alike will be pleased with this one. With the release of Sonic Boom Lee Morganís artistic excellence is on full display as Morgan has once again delivered a brilliant collection of tracks that could very well be him best work to date.

Sonic Boom grabs your attention right from the very first note with Sneaky Pete and wonít let go until the very last note of the very last song Claw-Til-Da, which is another great track by the way.

Sonic Boom is a nicely varied, mix of 13 tracks that are very well written songs by this clearly talented artist. Most of the songs display a lot of the kind emotion that makes for a really great listen. Clearly drawing from what I can only imagine are him own real life experiences. At different points touching on the most real emotions like love, heartbreak, pain, failed relationships and unattainable romance. Theyíre all here.

If youíre a Lee Morgan fan this is a CD your collection flat cannot be without. In fact, this is one of those CDs that you donít even have to be a fan of Morgan, or even Jazz to know is good. This is just good music. Period.

While the entire CD is really very good the truly standout tunes are track 5 - Iíll Never Be The Same, track 8 - Stormy Weather, and track 12 - Claw-Til-Da.

My Bonus Pick, and the one that got Sore [...as in "Stuck On REpeat"] is track 1 - Sneaky Pete. Outstanding!

Sonic Boom Release Notes:

Lee Morgan originally released Sonic Boom on October 7, 2003 on the Blue Note Records label.

CD Track List Follows:

1. Sneaky Pete

2. Mercenary, The

3. Sonic Boom

4. Fathead

5. I'll Never Be The Same

6. Mumbo Jumbo

7. Free Flow

8. Stormy Weather

9. Mr. Johnson

10. Stroker, The

11. Uncle Rough

12. Claw-Til-Da

13. Untitled Boogaloo

Personnel: Lee Morgan (trumpet); David "Fathead" Newman, George Coleman (tenor saxophone); Julian Prester (trombone); Cedar Walton, Harold Mabern (piano); Ron Carter, Walter Booker (bass); Billy Higgins, Mickey Roker (drums).

Cheap Laptops

Source: www.isnare.com