Federal Buyers » Federal Programs Home Buyers

Low-Income Home Buying Programs Explained

A low-income home buying program is any program that helps low-income buyers qualify for a mortgage loan and purchase a home. In other words, it's a program designed to assist home buyers who might not otherwise qualify for a loan.

Most low-income home buying programs are sponsored or insured by the government in some way, such as the programs listed below.

Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae
Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae are private corporations sponsored by the U.S. government. Both organizations indirectly help low- to middle-income families purchase homes, and in similar ways.

Freddie Mac
Freddie Mac is the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation. This organization was chartered by Congress in 1970. Freddie Mac supports the secondary mortgage market by purchasing residential mortgage loans and reselling them to investors on Wall Street. This increases the availability and affordability of home loans for low- and middle-income Americans.

Learn more at www.FreddieMac.com

Fannie Mae
Fannie Mae is short for Federal National Mortgage Association (FNMA). Congress chartered this organization in 1938. According to their website, Fannie Mae "provides financial products and services that make it possible for low-, moderate-, and middle-income families to buy homes of their own."

Learn more at www.FannieMae.com

Federal Housing Authority
The Federal Housing Authority (FHA) also supports low-income home buying in the U.S. The FHA was created as part of The National Housing Act of 1934. The FHA supports the home financing industry by insuring mortgages. This in turn helps low-income home buyers qualify for mortgage loans they might not otherwise qualify for.

Learn more at www.FHA.gov

Veteran's Administration Home Loans
The Veteran's Administration (VA) helps low-income home buyers (and all home buyers, for that matter) by guaranteeing loans made by mortgage lenders. The VA does not actually make direct loans. The VA home loan program is reserved for military veterans and their spouses. Applicants to the program must obtain a Certificate of Eligibility that they will in turn present to their mortgage lender.

Learn more at www.homeloans.va.gov

Rural Housing Authority
The Rural Housing Authority (RHA) is another government organization that can assist low-income home buyers in certain situations. The RHA is part of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). Unlike the organizations mentioned previously, the RHA actually makes direct loans to home buyers, among other things. They also guarantee regular commercial loans for home buyers in rural areas.

Learn more at www.rurdev.usda.gov/rhs

State-Sponsored Programs
In addition to federal programs, there are many low-income home buying programs offered by state governments. An example would be the Michigan State Housing Development Authority, which "makes low interest mortgage loans available through [their] network of experienced lenders." Many other states offer similar programs. There are far too many state programs to list in this article, but you can learn more about them by searching online for home buying programs in your state.

* Copyright 2007, Brandon Cornett. You may republish this article online if you keep the author's byline and active hyperlinks below.

Brandon Cornett is the publisher of Mortgage Refinance Advice, an educational website offering articles and advice on the mortgage refinance process. You can learn more by visiting http://www.mortgage-refinance-advice.com

Source: www.articlesbase.com